Back to top

Multistate Project NE-1010

http://www.nimss.org/projects/view/mrp/outline/1314

Breeding and Genetics of Forage Crops to Improve Productivity, Quality, and Industrial Uses

Multistate Project NE-1010 is a cooperative research project among perennial forage breeders in North America. There are three main objectives:

  1. Evaluate new plant characters and develop germplasm and cultivars with these characters to improve perennial forage species as livestock feed and biofuel uses to enhance rural vitality and promote more secure energy sources.
  2. Build on previous research to evaluate additional breeding methods for improving yield and persistence of alfalfa, red clover, orchardgrass, and other forage species to make production agriculture more economical and sustainable.
  3. Evaluate new experimental populations and cultivars of perennial forage species for characteristics necessary for breeders, seed companies, seed and forage producers, and crop consultants to make decisions on commercial use over large regions.

Research Project Descriptions

Members

Surya Acharya (LRC, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada) surya.acharya@agr.gc.ca
Brian Baldwin (Mississippi State Univ.) bsb2@msstate.edu
Bill Biligetu (SRC, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada) bill.biligetu@usask.ca
Arvid Boe (South Dakota State Univ.) arvid.boe@sdstate.edu
Charlie Brummer (UC Davis) ecbrummer@ucdavis.edu
Mike Casler (USDA-ARS, Madison, WI) mdcasler@wisc.edu
Yves Castonguay (AAFC, St. Foy, Quebec, QC) yves.castonguay@agr.gc.ca
Annie Claessens (AAFC, St. Foy, Quebec, QC) annie.claessens@agr.gc.ca
Bruce Coulman (SRC, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada) bruce.coulman@usask.ca
Nancy Ehlke (Univ. Minnesota) nancy@umn.edu
Michael Fitzner (USDA-CSREES) mfitzner@csrees.usda.gov
Andy Hopkins (Noble Foundation) AAHopkins@Noble.org
Zulfi Jahnufer (AgResearch, NZ ) zulfi.jahufer@agresearch.co.nz
Nitya Khanal (SRC, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada) nitya.khanal@usask.ca
Maria Monteros (Noble Foundation) mjmonteros@noble.org
Jesse Morrison (Mississippi State Univ.) jim46@msstate.edu
Ivan Mott (USDA-ARS) ivan.mott@ars.usda.gov
Yousef Papadopoulos (CLRC, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada) yousef.papadopoulos@agr.gc.ca
Michael Peel (FRRL, USDA-ARS) mike.peel@ars.usda.gov
Tim Phillips (Univ. of Kentucky) tphillip@uky.edu
Heathcliffe Riday (USDA-ARS, WI) heathcliffe.riday@ars.usda.gov
Joseph Robins (USDA-ARS)  joseph.robins@ars.usda.gov
Donn Vellekson (Univ. of Minnesota) velle001@umn.edu
Don Viands (Admin. Advisor, Cornell Univ.) donald.viands@cornell.edu

Additional Information

NIMSS web site