Back to top

Multistate Project NE-1710

Improving Forage and Bioenergy Crops for Better Adaptation, Resilience, and Flexibility

Multistate Project NE-1710 is a cooperative research project among perennial forage breeders in North America. There are four main objectives:

  1. Breeding crops with higher forage yield, improved forage quality for livestock production, longevity, and resistance or tolerance to biotic and abiotic stress conditions to provide more economical food production.
  2. Developing forage crops that will be productive under abiotic stresses, including drought, flooding, cold and warm temperatures, and soil salinity.
  3. Developing cultivars with improved biomass and quality, with improved resistance or tolerance to biotic and abiotic stress conditions. Research will include: improved seed germination, seedling vigor, biomass production, disease and insect resistance, etc., across multiple environments, especially on marginal soils where these species are likely to be used without competing with food crops.
  4. Improving the yield, nutritional quality, and storability of forage crops to ensure an ample supply of good quality feed to animals, an essential step in securing the food chain to the consumer.

Research Project Descriptions

Members

Surya Acharya (LRC, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada) surya.acharya@agr.gc.ca
Brian Baldwin (Mississippi State Univ.) bsb2@msstate.edu
Bill Biligetu (SRC, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada) bill.biligetu@usask.ca
Arvid Boe (South Dakota State Univ.) arvid.boe@sdstate.edu
Charlie Brummer (UC Davis) ecbrummer@ucdavis.edu
Mike Casler (USDA-ARS, Madison, WI) mdcasler@wisc.edu
Yves Castonguay (AAFC, St. Foy, Quebec, QC) yves.castonguay@agr.gc.ca
Annie Claessens (AAFC, St. Foy, Quebec, QC) annie.claessens@agr.gc.ca
Bruce Coulman (SRC, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada) bruce.coulman@usask.ca
Nancy Ehlke (Univ. Minnesota) nancy@umn.edu
Michael Fitzner (USDA-CSREES) mfitzner@csrees.usda.gov
Andy Hopkins (Noble Foundation) AAHopkins@Noble.org
Zulfi Jahnufer (AgResearch, NZ ) zulfi.jahufer@agresearch.co.nz
Nitya Khanal (SRC, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada) nitya.khanal@usask.ca
Maria Monteros (Noble Foundation) mjmonteros@noble.org
Jesse Morrison (Mississippi State Univ.) jim46@msstate.edu
Ivan Mott (USDA-ARS) ivan.mott@ars.usda.gov
Yousef Papadopoulos (CLRC, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada) yousef.papadopoulos@agr.gc.ca
Michael Peel (FRRL, USDA-ARS) mike.peel@ars.usda.gov
Tim Phillips (Univ. of Kentucky) tphillip@uky.edu
Heathcliffe Riday (USDA-ARS, WI) heathcliffe.riday@ars.usda.gov
Joseph Robins (USDA-ARS)  joseph.robins@ars.usda.gov
Donn Vellekson (Univ. of Minnesota) velle001@umn.edu
Don Viands (Admin. Advisor, Cornell Univ.) donald.viands@cornell.edu

Additional Information

NIMSS web site

Status message

Interested in helping inform the design of the new Cornell CALS website? Complete this 5-minute survey and you will be entered into a drawing for one of five $100 Amazon gift cards! Take the Survey!